To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Society consists of people living close together in harmony and share common moral valuues and culture. People of diverse background with different level of education inhabit major cities. Large differences in education level of the denizens of major cities is transformed into a huge disparity in the moral values, education, mores, autonomy of an individual and equal rights of women. Therefore, due to lack of consistency of people's opinion, major cities do not necessarily reflect most important characteristics of society.

Due to differing level of education, people put greater emphasis on different values. People living in major cities can be basically classified into three groups viz elite class, middle class and those below poverty line. Elite class, being the wealthiest ones, have the privilege to live the life however they want.They con afford to go for study at the best universities in the world and thus,place greater emphasis on becoming well-rounded individual. On the other hand, those belonging to middle class and living below poverty line have limited number of choices and some of them live in so squalid condition that acess to better education is just a dream. This different level of education redounds to different outlook on life. For example, people belonging to different classes of society do not have similar opinion on sex-ed. Some people look at it positively and deems it as an way to spread awareness about sex among young people whereas other people think of it as promoting the sex.

Traditionally, some society are patriarchic where women are viewed as individual to do mundane household chores and menial jobs. Such societies do not have egalitarian view of the rights of men and women and often tend to oppress women. Any well-educated person would concur, women play a pivotal role in the advancement of society. Since the inhabiatants of society have different level of education, some of them will believe in giving equal rights to the women and others will not. Such disparities are ubiquitous in major cities. And this, in turn, leads to inconsistency in characteristics of societ in major cities.

In countries where majority of population reside in village, major cities underrepresent the values and mores of such people. For example, according to National Survey of India, 70% of Indian population still live in a village. Traditionally, Indian Society has been patriarchic. At best, some people in village complete middle school.They become very insecure, when women are educated. As a result, such people have proclivity to deprive women of education. On the contrary, such incidences rarely occur in major cities. As a result, major cities fail to depict the true picture of important characterisitc of society.

In conclusion, major cities are not representative of important characteristic of society because people of multifarious background live in city who have different outlook on life and it fails to take into account the majority which lives outside the city.