In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Discussion among those with contrasting views often reaches deadlock because some people have tendency to misconstrue the failure to convince other party as their personal failure and thus are more rigid in their thoughts. Sometimes people wantonly opposes the view others in order to forestall the progress. This personal bent for not losing can not be addressed and thus, discussion among those with opposing views reaches a stalemate.

In the name of discussion people tend to be vindictive and oppose the view of other people because they want to stymie the progress.For instance, In Indian parliament, when something new- a law or scheme is brought in for the welfare of the people, those in opposition keep on opposing by pointing out the pity flaws of newly brought scheme or law. Usually, when amennding a new law, it only requires vote of 50% of member of parliament and since the ruling party is in majortiy, they always manage to bring in the law or scheme. But a opposing party will stage protest for no reason at all to hamper the progress. Therefore, contrasting view often reach impasse in such cases.

Sometimes people with opposing views can be obstinate and those with wrong views do not give in mainly because they tend to construe it as loss. Even when presented with strong evidence of what is contrary to the belief of an person, Some individual have proclivity to be inflexible and not change their view in the light of the new information. For instance, On the news channel there are debate hours conducted everyday to seek answer to the most pressing question that currently needs to be addressed. Mostly those invovled in debates belong to certain political parties. Even when it is proved that what they have to say is contadictory to the belief of majority, they will not change their views and instead they start defending their parties and portray themselves as good people.

However, discussion among those who hold contrasting views can lead to solution in the scientific community and bussiness community because these people are more interested in seeking the truth and not defending themselves. Discussion among those with opposing views reaches a solution mainly because those emobroiled in contention tend to back themselves up with credible reasons.

Therefore, depending on the kind of people involved in the discussion contrastin view can sometimes lead to solution and majority of the times the discussion is in stalemate because people involved in discussion have bent for not changin their views even when presented with new information that contradicts their bellief partly because they perceive it as losing and not reaching the solution.