The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

The argument, increased consumption of salicylate will mitigate the headache is unwarranted because it is based on dubious study and lackes concrete evidences.

First, the author cites a study that establishes a corelation between increased commercial use of salicyliate and steady decline in average number of headaches. In doing so, author assumes, study was impeccable and was conducted by disinterested people. There is possibility of study being influenced by the companies that add salicyliate into the food products. Companies must have tried to rigg the study because Salicyliate is the cheapest alternative.Also, the study states increased use of salicliates reduced average number of headaches. It is being assumed that also the salicylites is being used by humans. It is equally probable that Salicyliate was being used for other purposes, for examle in farming.

Second, since salicyliate is naturally present in food and people are consuming artificial or canned food, it is likely that salicyliate level in their body will be high. almost all drugs have off target effect, salicyliate is no exception. It is assumed that Salicyliate is not toxic at all even when consumed in large quantites.Instead of alleviating headache, consuming salicyliates in large quantities would be counterproductive and thus, weaken the author's arguement.

Third, Salicyliates belong to the family of apirin and is not identical to aspirin which is gives relief from headache. The author assumes that aspirin and salicyliates are identical. Small changes in chemical identity can bring about drastically different effect.It is possible that Salicyliate does not sooths headache and most people who experience relief from headache must have been due to some other cause. Besides headaches do not long last even when untreated and they are sporadically in on and off state for the individual. Therefore, the very assumption on which author bases his argument is flawed.

Finally, there possibilty that companies are promoting the excessive use of salicyliate because it is cheapes flavor additive and preservative.

In Conclusion, the argument, increased use of of salicyliates would mitigate the headaches is flawed because it is based on unwarranted assumption and supported by vague studies.