The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Achievemnts of scientist, rulers and artists have direct impact on the well-being of the common people and therefore, the greatness of nation is reflected by the achievements of its scientist, rulers and artist.

Rulers personal achievements has direct impact on the well-being of the common people. The rulers which work hard to devise machination that reduce corruption and makes basic needs of people like education, healthcare and food readily accessible contributes to bettering the lives of common people. For instance, A leader may amend new scemes like free education for all, access to medical healthcare at the cheapest price. If the rulers amend new decrees that makes it almost impossible to commit corruption, large amount of public fund can be saved and channeled to the resolve the more pressing matters. It is the rulers that have most power to bring the reforms that will improve the lives of commone people. Hence, great rulers build a great nation.

Most scientist study the problems which are germane to the well-being of people. If the nation is primarily dependent on the agriculture, for instance, majority of scientist work toward making new varieties of crops that will give high yield and drought and disease resistant. It is through innovation that major problems in human history have been eradicated. Before innovating new methods of crop production, crop yield was pretty low for reason such as succesptibilty of plant to disease or unfavourable growth condition. Advent of genetic engineering made it possible to generate new varieties of plants that are resistant to diseases and can withstand harsh environment. For example, Bt cotton is transgenic cotton which produces a toxin lethal to the insects feeding on the plant.

However, in some nation there is large disparity between the achievement of its ruler, scientist and artist and the well being of the people.

In counclusion, the achievement of rulers and scientist represent the greatness of nation because their action directly contributes to the bettering of lives of commone people.