In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The author provides the two pieces of evidence to support the argument that use of river at the Mason City is about to increase for water sports. Though the evidence may at first seem plausible, it doesn't substantiate the argument and therefore, the government should not devote more money to develop the riverside recreational facilities.

The first piece of evidence cited by the author is the survey conducted by spurious sources in which the Mason City residents have ranked water sports among their favourite recreational activities. It is being assumed in the argument that survey has been conducted by the authentic sources and had sample size large enough to be representative of the population. However, no details of the survey have been provided. If there were only a few people who ranked the water sport as their favourite recreational activity, it does not necessarily translates to people going to the river for water sports. There might be other rivers or water park present nearby which are far cleaner and better than the river at the Mason City. It is also being assumed that the people who have ranked the watersports as their favourite recreational activity would go to the river after creating new faciilities for water sport at the river in the Mason City. Since it is obscure whether people will use the river in the Mason city for water sports, the city government should not devote more budget because it will only lead to the failure.

The second piece of evidence cited by the author is complaints from inhabitants about the quality of water and fetid smell. It is being assumed in the argument that complainants are complaining because they want to use the river for water sports. However, it fails to take into account the people living near the coast of the river. It is possible that the only people complaining are those who reside in the vicinity of the river because foul smell from river is making their lives difficult. Since the motivation behind complaining is unclear, it is likely that less people will use the river for water sport and therefore it would be futile on the part of the government to devote more money. Next, it is being assumed that the city government has funds available to the improve the recreational facilities at the riverside. It might be that there are some other more pressing issue the government would want to channel its fund to address those issues. Issues like cleanliness and education are important than the recreation and deserve more attention and funding than the development of recreational facilities at the riverside.

Also, it is being assumed that there are no other rivers or water parks near the Mason City and people don't go there. Since the river at the Mason city was unclean and had foul smell, people are likely to be afraid of using it for the water sports even after cleaning. Thus, it would be fruitless to devote more budget to improve the riverside recreational facilities.

In conclusion, the government should not devote more money to the development of the riverside recreational facilities because the supporting survey is apocryphal and the only people who were complaining may have been those whose houses are present near the rivers.