The following is a letter that recently appeared in the Oak City Gazette, a local newspaper."The primary function of the Committee for a Better Oak City is to advise the city government on how to make the best use of the city's limited budget. However, at

The recommendation in the letter that the Committee should restrict its membership to residents solely in order to make it perform better seems logical. However, a few respects should be discussed in advance in order to examine the efficiency of this proposal.

A primary concern is about the foundation of reasoning in the letter, i.e., objections cast by non-resident committee members lead to failure of decision-making. In order to answer the question, we may survey statistically whether they are routine phenomena which obstruct the functioning of the Committee or accidental incidents but perceived with bias as frequent ones by the author of the letter. Obviously, if the failures of meetings are merely occasional, then the restriction of membership cannot lead to a better performance of the committee but has the risk of lowering the diversity of the committee members, since outsider may hold different but beneficial points of view.

Even though the non-local members raise objections frequently, this can't be directly related to their inadequacy of being members; their objections may be reasonable ones, probably due to their different consideration than the local.

This assumption can be investigated by looking carefully at the outcomes of those issues on which non-resident members have objections, to determine whether their oppositions are sensible or not.

Also, we can review the overall performance of all committee members to realize the correlation between the ability to advising and local citizenship and to find out whether only certain non-resident members performing poorly yet most of them are operating well. If it turns out that non-resident committee members as a whole perform well, then inhibit the involvement of them not only has no legitimacy but also shrink the function of the Committee.

All in all, for the sake of Oak City, we need the inquiries mentioned above to be answered in order to evaluate the proposal provided by the letter.