Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure

It sounds straightforward that people in a society shall obey all established laws. However, I hold an opinion that, in addition to people's duty of obeying just laws, people also have to resist those unjust laws. To focus our arguments, the value system to determine justness/unjustness of laws is, although also a critical issue, beyond the discussion of this essay. Hence, we are going to discuss with a postulation that we already have a well-defined definition of justness/unjustness. The discussion is first about the necessity of obeying just laws and then the need to rebel unjust laws.

Obviously, to obey just laws make a society operate harmonically. Individuals are easy to determine what one can do and cannot. These laws eliminate conflicts and avoid wasting human resources. Many may disagree with the notion of obeying just laws because they want an absolute freedom, but true freedom of a society can only be achieved by a certain degree of restriction.

On the other hand, people also have the responsibility to resist unjust laws for they may hurt the right of people. Some people may state that people should obey even those unjust articles because resisting them may lead to anarchy. Nevertheless, those laws may be constructed a long time ago or for only some people's interests. So it is important of a society to fight against these out-of-date or inappropriate laws to ensure the people's right and make progress.

Still, others may suggest that one should not involve in those objections against laws if he is not affected by them. However, I disagree with this kind of notion. Even if one is not affected by some unjust laws, one is still responsible to fight against the laws. It is because someone else may be affected and himself may be affected by some other unjust laws in future. Also, by such action, people will realize the possibility of changing existing laws. And this kind of movement makes sure the law is a tool for a society to operate smoothly but a tool to hurt people.

In conclusion, I stand in the position that people in a society should not only obey just laws and resist the unjust ones.