The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument of hiring the people who need less than six hours of sleep can contribute to the prosperity of company is based on vague and unwarranted assumption and is thus, fallacious. Therefore, hiring the people who need less than six hours of sleep will not lead to the prosperity of a company.

First, the argument relies on a study which states the association between number of hours needed for sleep and the success of company. It is unclear whether the result obtained throught the study were stastically significant enough to make strong co-relation between number of hours of sleep needed and the success of a firm. In case there was only weak association between sleep and success of company, the argument fails.

Second, it is being assumed that the Advertising Executives are the only personnel responsible for the success of company and not the quality of the product or any other people involved in developing the product tailored to the need of consumers. It is highly unlikely that only the advertisement can lead to the success of company and therefore, hiring the people the Advertisement Executives needing less than 6 hours of sleep will not have positive impact on the success of a company.

Thirf, it is being assumed that all the people have same physiology and those who sleep for less than 6 hours will always substantially contribute to the success of company. This sounds more counterintuitive. Different people need different amount of sleep. Some may need more and others may need less. Research has shown that atleast a six hours of sleep is needed for an individual to function optimally. Sleeping for less than six hours might therefore, contribute to failure of company rather than success. It might be that the subjects involved in the study took short naps in day time and thus, fulfilled their sleep quota by sleeping two times a day. Therefore, they needed less than six hours of sleep in the night. Since, it is not known whether the subjects involved in the study slept at the other times of the day, the results of the study needs to be taken with caution. Since there is uncertainity involved in the study and lacks thorough information about the sleeping pattern of the subjects involved, hiring people requiring less than six hours of sleep may prove counterproductive.

Finally, the article appears in the business magazine and it is obscure what was the motivation of the publisher behing publishng the result of this particular study. It might be possible that by publsihing such results they are trying to set up job seeker to lie that they need less than six hours of study and thus, make them word hard unnecessarily for the same wage. Since the motivation of publsher behind publishing this study are unclear,hiring people who need less than 6 hours of sleep is will not lead to prosperity and the growth of the company.

In conclusion, the hiring people needing less than six hours of study will not lead to success because the statistical significance of study is unclear, motivation behind publishing such study is obscure and no concrete information about the sleeping pattern of subjects involved in the study is known.