Claim: Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a

substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university

courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic

and to achieve a common goal.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Collaboration and teamwork skills are highly important for most students and, in fact, most people in their careers. However, it is difficult to make the case that group assignments which may encourage collaborative behaviour should replace 'substantial' lecture-based teaching. Rather, the two teaching tools complement one another rather than acting as substitutes. An education dominated by collaborative work gives students fewer chances to develop indepent studying skills, gain arcane insights from conversant professors and may result in fewer students actually understanding the topic.

There is a trade-off with every decision made and the cost of that trade-off must be compared to the benefit of an action before it can be deemed worthy. In the case of replacing substantial lecture-based instructions with group assignments, it is exactly this analysis that is lacking. What skills do students lose out on in a class where the majority of their work is in group assignments? It's clear to see that these students, who may have sharp collaboration skills, will naturally have less experience working independently. In building their collaboration skills, they will have lost their independent learning skills, which are also crucial to most careers students will be looking to pursue. The ability to make sound judgements, plans and learn by oneself- skills which are developed through independent study- are in fact useful skills for collaborative work too. However, only working in collaboration does not encourage students to develop these skills to the same degree as independent study.

Secondly, the argument seems to imply that lecture-based instruction cannot be collaborative or involve elements of collaboration. However, many professors today look to engage their students by using interactive digital tools in lectures or by requiring active participation to solve a problem. In both cases, students are required to collaborate and work towards a common goal and can build these skills without requiring substantial group assignment work.

Of course, it is difficult to make the case that collaboration during lecture-time only will sharpen a student's teamworking skills as much as group assignments which are much more involved. Therefore, I am not making the case that students should not do any group collaboration. Instead, it is important for students to learn and develop their knowledge of the subject through a variety of methods. This not only ensures that they develop a rounded set of skills (for example, writing a thesis builds detail orientation skills while debating in a seminar helps students communicate their ideas consisely) but this also ensures that the students get the most accurate grade for their skills and command of the subject as possible. When students work in groups, there is an incentive for some members of the group to shirk their responsibilities. One student who is content with a lower grade might put in less hours into the group assignment than a student aiming for all As. If the result of this project is a high grade due to the ambitious student's hard work, then the student with more lassitude will unfairly get a higher grade than he might deserve. By the same vein, a studious student working with a group of less ambitious students might see her grades decline as she's unable to fulfil the obligations of the entire group assignment by herself to the calibre that she would like.

Finally, to replace a substantial amount of lecture-based learning with group work assumes that all students will need collaboration skills more than independent learning skills. This might be true for some students, however, one can easily see cases where it would not be appropriate for all students. For example, a student looking to become an academic scholar with an interest in a very niche field will likely need to develop independent working skills much more than collaborative skills. To require this student to learn in only a collaborative environment would not equip him with the skills he requires in the future.

In the example above, the aim is not to suggest that the student needs no skills in collaboration, scholars often work together just as often as any other professionals do, and therefore, all students should spend some time working on group assignments. However, to make the case that this time should outweigh other types of learning would be to ignore the benefits of the lecture hall entirely. Students require a degree of independent time to pursue areas of their own interests and build independent skills as well as time spent in the company of erudite professors who can expand their knowledge of a subject much more than peer work alone. In fact when group assignments are used as teaching tools alongside classrooms and independent study, students can be enriched in well-rounded skills which will make them much more adaptive in the workplace, than simply collaboration alone. The group assignment allows students to explore the lessons of their professor with other peers.