Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Media used to very effective till a decade ago, before this widespread of internet. They used to take their job seriously providing crucial, informative news and making public aware without being biased. However media now has started working for clicks and views which will eventually maximize their revenue. They often are allured to post spicy, rumor and even false news without having to fact check. As a result, I partially agree it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as hero.

This haphazard distribution of news by media has led different genuine person suffering for the offence they have never committed. For instance, Johnny Depp faced media trial for several years only to be announced innocent later. As the matter went public, different medias started portraying him as convict and vilified him causing immeasurable loss to his image. His fans started to have mixed reaction towards him. Big corporations chose to stay away from him and different parties like Disney abandoned contracts with him resulting in monetarily loss of about $40 mil. Here the one who is guilty is media, based upon the rumor of the case they published news randomly only for the sake of receiving maximum interaction from the viewers.

It would be wrong to assume that this issue is confined to celebrities only rather different big personalities are also prone to it. For instance, Neil deGrasse Tyson, a very well known astrophysicist, used to tweet about the logical error of several fictional Hollywood movies. He used to point out mistakes and offers solution to it. It was quite informative to his audience who used to follow him and they often praised him for his knowledge about universe. Recently he was popular for trying to fix Batman’s Bat-signal which made Batman fans furious. Media hyped this issue supporting Batman fans and criticized Neil deGrasse which resulted more public attention and more criticism. Due to this and similar past incidents he expressed he doesn’t feel safe in internet and could stop giving his opinions completely.

However the image is not subject of scrutiny always. Some people can be above all medias. Some people have pretty firm image and influence that even media can’t cause any harm. For instance, Messi, popular footballer is often charged for tax fraud and cases are filed against him. But the case goes on and leaves him without a scratch on his reputation and his loyal fans are never bothered by it.

Media plays immense role in shaping public opinion. The repeatedly feeding of same fake news can make people starting to believe it as true. It is necessary to consider media as just a source and fact-checking everything before starting to blindly following it. Till then it is almost impossible that someone is only being praised by the media and to be considered hero by the society.