Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In my opinion, I disagree with the statement. There are lots of great people respected by the public in their lifetime because of their achievements.

Indeed, there are still lots of celebrities’ reputation because of their scandals. Take Kobe Bryant as an suitable example. Kobe Bryant was a superstar of NBA, and he won NBA championship five times and got many individual rewards, such most valuable play and scoring championship. He was one of the greatest basketball players in our period without a doubt. However, in 2003, he was discredited by a sexual scandal, and he apologized to the public and pay a handsome amount of money for the female victim. Therefore, the reputation of some celebrities was diminished because of their negative scandals.

However, there are still a few people being regarded as a hero by the public until today. For example, Morris Chang, the founder of TSMC which is the top-notch semiconductor company in the entire world, is highly respected by Taiwanese people until today. Morris Chang established TSMC in 1986, and he made lots of decisive policies to help TSMC become the most important semiconductor enterprise. He proposed that TSMC should only focus on manufacturing chips instead of designing them. As a result, TSMC received lots of orders from other well-known companies, such as Apple and Nvidia. In 2023, TSMC has become the largest semiconductor manufacturing company in the world, and Taiwan also becomes a crucial member of semiconductor supply chain. By contrast if Morris Chang had not decided to build TSMC, then it would have induced many seriously negative effects for the economy of Taiwan.

For another example, Alan Turing, the greatest computer scientist in the world, is still regarded as a hero by British people. The most famous achievement of Alan Turing was that he deciphered the communication devices of Nazi Germany, and this result largely reduced the number of casualty of British army. Before Alan Turing deciphered German communication machines, the allies had had to lose more than five thousand soldiers each day. However, with his great accomplishment, the allies could finally defeat Nazi Germany in 1945 and save the European people from the reign of Nazi party. By contrast, if Alan Turing had not deciphered the communication machines of Germany, then Germany might have conquered the entire world with Japanese Empire.

To sum up, I disagree with the statement. Because there are still many people’s reputation not being diminished under the affects of media.