Claim: Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts.

Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public.

The statement above claims that it is politicians and government experts who are exclusively apt for taking major policy decisions as they have more information and can make a better judgment. Although governments should take the decisions as they are capacitated to do so, people’s idea should not be entirely ignored.

Of course, governments are inaugurated to take major policy decisions for the public. People’s ideas are so diverse and making a consensus between all the people of a society is not possible for every decision. This is where governments take shape; a minority of people take both power and responsibility in the form of a government. At the same time, people concede the very power and responsibility to deal with their own personal life, and not to be engaged with the problem of their society. Therefore, it is the nature of the governments to take the decisions for the public.

As the reason is concerned, it holds true since the governments’ information legitimates them to take decisions for the public. Especially decisions, involving confidential information, need to be left to the governments. For instance, confidential information of foreign relations, which are more a matter of the political game. Enemies become allies and friends assume a hostile attitude constantly, and the public, who does not know the mores of politics, would overestimate the situations and panic.

Besides confidential information, any decent decision requires a comprehensive set of information, which only the educated, discerning experts can have, not to lead to any unpredicted negative consequence. Consider the decisions on the import of Chinese merchandise into a country. The total price of a Chinese product is low and are affordable for people. At the same time, the national productions in an importing country cannot compete with such low prices and would suffer gravely. Hence, the delicacy of the decisions demands expertise, which common people do not possess.

However, confidential decisions aside, the major policy decisions should not be taken in a political territory, keeping entirely the idea of the public away. Not considering the people and giving the government untrammeled power to take decisions on its discretion, can result in the corruption of the governments and the alienation of the public. An emanated democratic society is that governments allow the public to be involved in the general major decisions through their inalienable rights to vote, having a parliament, and legal protestations, while the political experts assess the consequences of any decision.

In short, as discussed, it is the nature of the governments to take the decisions for the public. However, we cannot integrally allocate a political territory and defy any entrance of the public, since it would lead to corruption. A decent governing system also allows the people to be involved in the major decisions by offering them the aforementioned rights.