Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

The author claims that may problems of modern society cannot be solved by the laws and legal system , and as a reason he states that laws cannot chnage what is in people's heart or mind. The author is talking about the inability of the laws to prevent the crime occuring in the modern society .

I mostly agree with the author , however a law is always required to punish the wrong doings.

Firstly , crimes increasing these days like acid attacks,rape and cyber bullying are occuring inspite of the plethora of laws on the same .people are aware of the illeagal and immoral nature of their activities but they are determined in taking their revenge , or getting the physical satisfaction that they often ignore the result of those crimes. they are pushed by thier inner feelings and laws seem ineffective in such case .

Secondly , another unsolvable problem that the modern society faces is the addiction of the internet and social media . The use of the smartphones and internet is increasing the depression among the teenagers , divorce among the married couples and the feeling of detachment from their younger ones among the older ones.

these are the problems that the law and legal system cannot eradicate. these are not crimes theses are just human hearts wanting to do their own To controlsuch problems the circle in which individual stays effect the most . so such problems can be so solved more effectively by good parenting or good moral support..

Finally, Although laws cannot change people's mind and force the people with depression to be happy , but law can stop cyber bullying , it cannot guess who is trying to do some immoral but it can atleast punish them and warn others .

In conclusion , law is not the only entity that can solve the problems existing in the society , a invidual himself need to be aware of his doings and circle themself with positive people to influence positive environment.