[Claim] Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system. [Reason] Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds. [Specific Task Instruction: Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.]

Laws and legal system are made for using forcing power to monitor citizen's behavior, to maintain the stable and safety of the society. Along with the society development, the laws are gradually modified and added to achieve more fairness and justice. The world does not run perfectly, there are still some problems cannot be solved by the current law and legal system, someone argues this issue due to the laws cannot change people's minds. Personally, I mostly agree with the ultimate result, but disagree with the threshold reasoning. In my view, those issues are caused and limited by the imperfection and disability of the law system but not the law's impact.

Firstly, laws are imperfect, it improved by steps. Some problems cannot be solved at the very beginning as laws generally lagging. Accumulated unfair and unjust problems rouse people to fight for themselves, the fights win more attention from people in different fields to care about those issues, then the law set up later. For instance, throughout the nineteenth century, many feminist goals were gradually achieved, especially the rights of married women to control their own property, until 1920, women in US gained their rights to vote. Those law and regulation were set up gradually, and those laws have strong impact on both people and society development later.

Furthermore, another characteristic of law is it acts to prevent invisible problems. Some problems exposed and alerted at first, then human start to pay attention on the crisis, when the laws set up, people's minds are corrected and changed gradually, and the laws could prevent the same problem happens again. Take the London smog in 1952 as an example. The smog caused by unclean fuel in daily use utility and industrial activities, plus the weather factor in that winter, around 4000 people were killed by lung related diseases. After that tragedy, people started paying attention to the environment in London, they set up Clean Air Act to curtail the pollution exhaust to the air. Besides the protect of air, people also changed mind to care more about their living environment, like pollution water, wasted resources and some others related with public health problems. Accordingly, some laws were set after crisis to prevent similar crisis happen again.

Finally, due to the complex of humanity, some problems caused by the dark side of human nature, however, one's mindset and heart can only be changed when they accept to be educated. Laws work in the way to educate people and alert people about the consequence of bad behaviors, education is the best way to influence people.