To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to your position.

I mostly disagree with this opinion, as besides the moral standards, there are more crucial factors to weigh the effective of the job to be a public officer.

Admittedly, without the highest ethical and moral standards, scandals would mar the reputation of the leader. Besides these policies, the leader himself is also under spotlight, especially in the modern society, the media could play the most important role of monitor a public official's behaviors. For instance, when the media expose Bill Clinton have illegitimate relationship with his colleague Lewinsky, the trust from the public people decreased immediately, people questioned his characteristic of betray his wife, the opponent would not miss this opportunity to against him and challenge his decision on policies. Because Bill did not follow the highest moral standards, the buttress of his opinion was undermined as well. On the contrary, a leader who has high moral standards would help him avoid those scandals and win more trust from the followers, and also could be a benign model of them.

However, when we evaluate the leadership of a public official, some crucial factors could be, does he made effective policies which better developed the society? does he make prudent and judicious decision when facing to the benefits conflict? Does he become an exemplar for other politicians or his team workers? Does he improved the welfare of the public people? and many other questions related with improve and good influence on the society. Take Hoover and Roosevelt as an example, during 1930, American is facing to the economy recession, President Hoover insisted on Laissez-faire policy and believe in the market would recovery by itself, however, the stock market slumped and rampant business investment declined sharply, myriad of unemployed people are suffering from starvation, at the same time, milk enterprise would rather dump their milk which cannot bring them benefit other than give the milk to poverty people. Against with Hoover's policy, new president Roosevelt published new policy to allow government to interfere of economy. The decisive and judicious policy win award and honor for Roosevelt from the public people. Even though Roosevelt has an affair with another lady beyond of his wife, public people still applause him as a great politician. Accordingly, to be a public official, there are many other indicators to evaluate his work, the mainly one is the society contribution which his work brings.

To conclusion, I would prefer some other factors would be more valuable to weigh a public official's work beyond the highest ethical and moral standards, as the most important work for a public official, is to maintain the sustainable development and enrich people's welfare.