Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

The statement claims that researchers must not confine their investigation to only those areas in which they anticipate a discovery with immediate and practical application for the reason that predicting the outcome of any line of research with certainty is impossible. While, in any field of enquiry predicting the final outcomes and the resulting benefits for humanity is hard, thereby justifying the claim; however, researchers must also endeavour to solve pressing problems apart from pursuing long term research goals.

Scientific research can be broadly categorized as ‘fundamental’ and ‘applied. The former, often long term, aims to unravel the mysteries of the universe and human existence; whereas the latter aims to use existing knowledge to tackle well-defined problems with immediate and practical effect. Admittedly, both the recommendation and the given reason find support in some historical examples. For example, no one could have predicted that the invention of gun powder would stem from the explosion of an ‘alchemy’ lab in medieval China. Similarly, that Fleming’s pondering on the staphylococci culture would pave way for the discovery of penicillin, thus revolutionizing modern medicine was unthinkable. However, modern research mostly functions with expected outcomes and the reason presented cannot be a solid justification alone.

Yet the recommendation holds merit in the fact that ‘applied’ research itself feeds on ‘fundamental’ one. It is simply not possible to discover or invent something having immediate practical application without exploiting the vast knowledge resource generated through decades and centuries of rigorous research. For example, to discover the vaccine for the current COVID-19 pandemic which threatens millions of lives, researchers were not only required to find the structure of the virus but also had to rely on the past knowledge of virology. Both the current research on novel corona virus structure as well as the past findings on virology may seem impractical without considering their ultimate aim and utilities. Similarly, the end rewards from the knowledge generated by the discoveries on atomic structure, DNA, photoelectric effect, etc. could only become visible after those were already done.

However, scientific research is time consuming and costly. The cost is generally borne by the tax-paying public who then are entitled to reap immediate rewards of scientific discoveries. Given the limited time and resources that researchers have, complete dependence and focus on new knowledge generation and long term research goals instead of using existing knowledge to address contemporary challenges is detrimental and unjust. For example, when the world is engulfed in the crisis of global warming, depletion of fossil fuel resources and increased energy consumption, a heavy research focus on extra terrestrial life is unjustifiable.

Moreover, if researchers ignore the immediate problems such as climate change, global pandemics, etc., the irreversible damage to earth and the life within will be too heavy to be compensated by any future scientific accomplishment. Therefore, a pragmatic way to follow the recommendation would be to balance the focus between ‘fundamental’ and ‘applied’ research. Moreover, the priority in applied research must be based on the hierarchy of human needs as outlaid by Maslow as well as on the demand of the hour.

In conclusion, both the unpredictable nature of research and the dependent nature of applied research on fundamental one justify the author’s recommendation. However, it would be unwise to completely shift focus away from research addressing immediate pressing issues of the society due to both the obligation towards the research funding public as well as the consequences of ignoring such threats.