Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: Great achievements by a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure a good life for the majority of that nation's people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claims that the successes of the leaders, artists, and science people are the indicator of the greatness of a nation. The writer further reasons that the ruler, artists, or scientists’ achievements in a society illustrate the welfare of majority of its national. I fundamentally do not concur with this claim and its adherence. In what follows, I will list my potent arguments to cast doubt on the accuracy of this disposition.

First of all, although the content of society is important for the flourishment of its citizens; weighing of all responsibility and role over the nation is not a wise and logic action. Actually, the success or achievement of any person depends on the various factors; none which is not ignorable. For instance, an individual’s ingenuity, family rearing, talent, educational background, resistance, and practice are an indicator of his success in his activities, which are irrelevant from the greatness of the nation. I prefer to give an example from my own country, Iran. According to the statistical table about the Happiest Country released by the Sustainable Development Solution Network, Iran among the 155 countries is listed in 108. This data depicts that Iran does not prepare a good environment for its denizen. On the other hand, there is a long list of successful Iranian scientist, surgeon, engineer, artist, and athlete. Is it logic to link their success to welfare and greatness of the society?!

Another striking factor which should be considered is that not all national achievement should be considered as the benchmark of greatness. It is possible that a society and its governor support an activity; furthermore, they allocated all financial, educational, and natural sources for the thrive of that activity. However, the outcome and achievement of that activity are not beneficial for that nation and its citizen. A lucid example which verifies my stand is North Korea and its attempt for possessing nuclear energy. Whole support from the government and public were devoted to this aim. They scarify all their property for this task and they achieve their desired outcome; nevertheless, they become isolated and separated society from other countries. Does this separation match with the modern globalized world? Or a better and specified question is, does all this ransom of financial and efforts worth to become an isolated country with nuclear energy?!

Finally, the author uses the logic of the magnificent success by a group of the society is the representer of welfare of the majority of public to support his claim, which I feel is a shaky reason. Actually, the writer overlooks the ration of successful people to the public. The consideration of success by the one-hundredth of public and privilege of this success to the whole is not cogent logic. For instance, Gandhi is an Indian, famous and well-known ruler, who inspired the whole people in the world to seek their right to freedom and civil rights. Does his achievement as an Indian citizen represent the entire 1.2 billion Indian people welfare?

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned argument illustrates my opposite perspective toward this claim and its supportive reason.