1.1. The following appeared in a memo from the Board of Directors of Butler Manufacturing.

"During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Therefore, we recommend that Butler Manufacturing shorten each of its work shifts by one hour. Shorter shifts will allow Butler to improve its safety record by ensuring that its employees are adequately rested."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The board of directors of Butler Manufacturing recommends to the shortening the entire working shifts in the factory by an hour, to guarantee workers adequate rest and prevent the possible on-job-incidents. This advice cannot be accepted as it stands since it relies on the series of the evidence all of which are skeptical and questionable. The following paragraphs will list these raised inquiries and required clues for verification of the note.

The first problem with the note is the comparison, which is done between the Butler Manufacturing and Panoply Industries, actually, there is no information about these two companies. Furthermore, an accurate comparison is done among two identical elements in which will be the chance the contrasting and bolding the differences; otherwise, it would be the comparison of apples and oranges. A series of question which comes to mind is; firstly, are the type of job and working load at two companies the same? Secondly, do the safety factor of both factories identical? Thirdly, do the employees possess the same level of knowledge and expertise about their working? If only the first question considered for the further consideration, it is possible that the burden of responsibility at Panoply Industries is lower than the Butler Manufacturing; therefore, working load in Butler Manufacturing is more tedious than the Panoply Industries, and workers in Butler Manufacturing feel more fatigue. Consequently, the method implemented in Panoply Industries cannot be accountable for Butler Manufacturing.

The other issue with the note is the reference which is given to recent study conducted by the government, this is a vague and shaky reference since there is no clue this research is applicable in the field of occupation at Butler Manufacturing. Indeed, the overgeneralization of finding in the specific study, there should be similarities between the studies case studies and target population; otherwise, it will be dead-ended effort. At this stage the question which should be responded by Board of Director is does this study include the type of job that they have in the Butler Manufacturing? For instance, there is a probability that the studies group was the drivers who are more susceptible to the on-job-accidents caused by the lack of sleep and tiredness of the driving. In this scenario, the presented result merely represents this category and overlooked the other possible factors such as the employees’ expertise with working the machines which is one of the most striking factors in the on-the-job calamity in the field of industry. Therefore, this study cannot be a cogent source to rely on.

Finally, the Board Directors assumes that the shorten hour from the shift will be allocated for the resting hours by the workers, which is unreliable and dubious substance and leads to another question. Do the labors spend this one-hour as their resting period? Maybe they prefer to spend it as the spare time with their family or spend it on doing personal chores. In this case, the factory misses one hour working without warrantee that workers will be well-rested. Therefore, there is no guarantee that the recommended plan will be effective in raising the alertness of workers and the reduction of hazardous in the factory.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned problems and questions, explicitly depict that the note is doubtful and requires further explanation about the similarities of two compared companies to be assured that the same method implement in neighborhood company will be accountable for Butler Manufacturing. In addition, the study done by the government is applicable in Butler Manufacturing and the one-hour shorten by the company will be used for the rest and not other activities.