The following appeared in a memo from the Board of Directors of Butler Manufacturing.

"During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Therefore, we recommend that Butler Manufacturing shorten each of its work shifts by one hour. Shorter shifts will allow Butler to improve its safety record by ensuring that its employees are adequately rested."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The Board of Directors recommends that Butler Manufacturing shorten each of its work shifts by one hour to ensure safety and a decrease in accidents. However they fail to acknowledge certain crucial assumptions.

Firstly, it is proffered that there are 30 percent more on-the-job accidents reported by workers at Butler Manufacturing than Panoply Industries and the reason is that the latter has one hour shorter shifts than the former. However, the fact is discounted that there may be other reasons for lesser accidents at Panoply Industries. The machines may be more efficient or their operating procedure is much more systematized resulting in lesser accidents.

Secondly, the number of accidents is only compared with only one other organization. There may be other nearby factories that have the occurrence of more mishaps and accidents than Butler Manufacturing. The failure to provide statistical data about the mishaps makes this claim unjustified.

Lastly, the author posits that the only reason of the increased accidents is because of the longer work shifts and the only solution would be to make the shifts an hour shorter in order to compensate for the sleep deprivation and fatigue. But there could be various reasons to these misadventures. The workers may be mentally unfocused due to problems or physical ill. Also, there is a possibility of machines malfunctioning and the operational hazards with it.

Therefore, due to aforementioned fallacies the argument fails to make a cogent case that cutting short the work shifts by one hour would result in lesser accidents and renders itself unsound.