A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

________________________________________

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The movie producer's advice to the head of the movie studio to increase the funding of the movie by 10% so that because they are working with first-time directors and inexperienced crew and hence the movie would fail, ignores certain crucial assumptions.

Firstly, the producer says that the budget should be increased by 10% because they are working with fresh director, who only shot shampoo commercials and they are notorious for their extravagance. However, he fails to acknowledge, just because it is said that advertising companies are very wasteful, so was the company that the director worked for and that he will follow the same trend. Had the producer said specifically that the shampoo company, the director worked for was notorious in wasteful spending, the claim would not have proven unsound.

In addition, the producer presumes that since the new director worked for an advertising company, he will be of the same prodigal mind as those companies are, but fails to substantiate this claim. He might not at all be wasting any money and very diligent with his work and actually saves money rather than wasting it shooting takes after take. The producer is unable to justify his correlation between the ad companies that are wasteful and the company the director worked for was also one of them and that the director as well is of the same mind set.

Furthermore, the producer proffers that the movie studio has saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced professionals that is, the assistant producers and directors, on lower wages. The reason that the movie requires the initial budget to be increased by 10% is might be due to that. The callow assistant producers and directors might not be trained well enough to do their job, lagging the whole crew. The writer fails to take this reason into account and renders this claim invalid.

Thus, the argument that the movie budget should be raised by 10% otherwise, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure is spurious. It lacks the cogency and fails to authenticate its conclusion.