“When something is judged as ugly or lacking in style, it is because it is being perceived by someone other than its target audience."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Is it always true that something considered beautiful by someone becomes the quintessential definition of what beauty is? Not many of us would agree. They say that “Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder” and I truly concur with that statement. I believe that beauty is subjective and how a single person perceives someone or something solely depends on their likings and mood. This could be better understood with the examples Art and Literature.

For each single person the definition of beauty is different. The field of Arts is the best example one could rely upon. For many of the works of art there may be admirers who would go to lengths and boast about a particular piece of painting that they liked so much and for that painting there may be detractors who wouldn’t even like a single thing about them. This specific contradiction clearly suggests the subjectivity that beauty entails. There might be various aspects of that painting that the detractor did not comprehend or he was not feeling what the picture emoted or just plainly did not like that piece of art. For the famous artists like Vincent Van Gogh, Leonardo Da Vinci, etc there were various criticisms about their work and there were people who just truly cherished their art.

Another such example could be found in the works of literature, particularly in the work of Dan Brown, a novelist who indulges in mystery and thriller. His book, The Da Vinci Code, particularly, was the centre of many conspiracies when it got released and due to what it contained, it was banned to be published at certain places. There was a bedlam of priests and popes over to completely bar this book from people to read as it contained fallacious and blasphemous information about Jesus Christ. But the followers and admirers of Brown’s work, hungry for that particular genre, thoroughly enjoyed the intricacies and punctilious information leading towards solving the conundrum.

By my reckoning, it would not be wrong to say that it is actually the beholder who truly discerns the beauty or the fault with someone or something. And if it is made according to the likes of the person viewing it, he or she will definitely consider it as pulchritudinous.