When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

One cannot just simply agree or disagree to the statement that modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings. There are various reasons why some of us would say that modern development is the way to go. But, some of us would completely differ to that. However, I believe that a number of factors should be taken into account before deciding the fate of an old structure that if it is to stay the same or utterly transformed by the erection of a new edifice.

Well, initially in order for a historic structure to be erased by a new development, there should be a complete check of strength, stability and sustainability. It is a very well-known fact that older structures were constructed with utmost purity and without much adulteration of materials and equipment. Hence they turned out to live a longer life. I can refer to a personal example of my old home being demolished in order to construct a new building, because the family was expanding and we required more space. The workers that came to dismantle the building took longer than they thought because the building had such good strength. Even now half of the building still exists and stays erect firmly without any danger. My point is if an old build out could be modified, renovated and fresco-ed into a lively structure there should be measures taken to do it, because I believe that they continue to go on forever and they have sentimental values and memories attached to it. I adored my old home so much and I literally cried and still have tears in my eyes every time I think of the time there.

On the other hand, if nothing could be done about and old building that is wrecking by the day and doing nothing but imperiling the lives of people using it or passing by it, then there should be replaced by a new more sustainable establishment from which people can benefit from and that is not a danger to the lives. Yet, I also believe that some historical buildings hold a certain amount of cultural heritage and monumental importance to a city or country. Therefore, every effort should be exhausted to preserve such memorial structures because in turn they become a source of tourist attraction and generation of foreign revenue.

To conclude, I think that before giving preference to a modern development, one should look at the possible options to recreate and renovate and old place and should not disregard the factor of solidity that comes from an old construction, and if nothing conforms then a modern construction for modern purposes should be preferred.