The following appeared as part of a business plan developed by the manager of the Rialto Movie Theater.

"Despite its downtown location, the Rialto Movie Theater, a local institution for five decades, must make big changes or close its doors forever. It should follow the example of the new Apex Theater in the mall outside of town. When the Apex opened last year, it featured a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system. Furthermore, in a recent survey, over 85 percent of respondents reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to the movies more than five times per year. Thus, if the Rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as Apex."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The business plan suggested by the manager of the Rialto Movie Theatre that it should make big changes and follow the footsteps of the Apex Theatre in the mall is logically unsound since, it disregards certain momentous assumptions.

Initially, the argument presumes that since the facilities like video arcade, plush carpeting and seats and the state-of-the-art sound system works for Apex Theatre, it may not necessarily work for Rialto Theatre. The reasons could be two-fold. First, that Apex Theatre is situated in a mall and people who go to the mall might indulge in those facilities. Second, the people going to Apex Theatre may prefer those facilities. Rialto Theatre, on the other hand is in downtown. The fact that the locations of both the theatres are different and the gentry going to them may also be different is not considered rendering this claim invalid.

Additionally, there is no statistical data provided to confirm that Apex Theatre is actually earning more profit because it has incorporated these facilities. And based on the fact that it is located outside the town, there is a possibility that people might not want to take longer drives to go the theatre. Had the writer proffered any documentation or study authenticating these facts, the assumption would not have been flawed.

Lastly, the argument puts forward a survey result saying that there is an 85 percent decrease in the movie-goers due to the increased costs of newly released movies the theatre business is plummeting anyway, so even if Rialto Movie Theatre makes these changes and follow Apex Theatre, there is no guarantee that people will come to watch movies at the former or the latter for that matter. On the other hand, it also depends on the people, they might prefer going to Rialto because it does not have any shenanigans and people, who just want to watch the move will enjoy the movie more in the peace and quiet.

Thus, the argument that Rialto theatre should make big changes incorporate the facilities like Apex theatre in order to make more profit and to hold on to its share in the declining pool of moviegoers fails to justify its claims and hence does not prove its conclusion.