"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The editor argues that because of the recent success of unmanned space probes and satellites we should invest our resources in unmanned space flights. However, he fails to acknowledge certain crucial assumptions.

Initially, he proffers that a manned space flight is costly and dangerous, but he does not provide and statistics on how expensive unmanned space flights would be. Also, he is comparing manned space flights and unmanned space probes and satellites. There is no proof that both of things being compared are the same. So, there could be a case of apples and oranges. The lack of information renders this claim unjustified.

Secondly, it is claimed that a series of unmanned space probes and satellites have been successful and that a great deal of information could be gathered through these.This claim is dubious on two accounts. First of all, the recent successes could be flukes and gives no certainty that it will be successful in the future as well. Second of all, it says that a great deal not all the information. So, there is a possibility of not getting the required information at all through and unmanned satellite. Hence, this claim fails to prove itself.

Lastly, the author fails to take into account that there could also be risks with the unmanned space flights, these could crash into other valuable satellites if not landed correctly or malfunctioned in any other way increasing the risks and costs further more.

Therefore, due to aforementioned flaws, the editor fails to make a cogent case that we should invest our resources in unmanned space flights and the argument renders itself fallacious.