Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium—substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that milk and dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease the risk of Osteoporosis is spurious since it fails to acknowledge certain crucial assumptions.

Initially, the author mentions that osteoporosis can be caused due to environmental factors or it may be a congenital defect in people. However, if osteoporosis is inherited by an infant genetically, there are always chances of fractures and other bone defects.

More so, the claim provides the results of a long-term study on a large number of people and reports that people who consumed a diet rich in dairy products have a higher rate of fractures than those who don’t. Here the argument fails to proffer sufficient statistical information that bolsters the claim. Also, the fact that the ages, economic background and ethnicity of people involved in the study is not known. Had the writer considered furnishing data about the above mentioned categories, the flaws would not have been there to begin with.

On the other hand, there could a number of other factors to the higher rate of bone fractures reported in the study. The people who consumed dairy products may have been in frequent accidents rather than those who did not. Or, the folks who did not incorporate enough dairy in their diet may be healthier in general than others because they did exercises and involved in other physical and strength training.

The argument contains inferences which cannot be substantiated with the data provided by the author. Hence, it fails to make a cogent case in proving its conclusion.