The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

________________________________________

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author argues that illegal immigrants pose threats of ruining the economy and imperiling the national identity of a country; therefore they should strengthen the borders and make every effort possible to return them to their country of origin, but fails to provide information validating the claim.

Initially, it surmises that the autonomy of every country is based on the strength of its borders and illegal immigrants enter the country through these borders and endanger the country's economy and national identity. However, there is no provision of any statistical data suggesting the prime source of immigrants is through these borders which they cross illegally.

On the other hand, the argument proffers that because illegal immigrants pose such imminent threats and every endeavor must be made to send them back to their homeland. In the sentence above, the writer says that number of illegitimate immigrants cannot be checked so, this claim renders the writers assumption fallacious. Since there is no track, they might not be able to deport every illegal settler.

Also, the author fails to take account of the fact that the country may actually require people emigrated from other countries in order to compensate for the scarcity of skilled professionals in the former. If that is the case, how is the country certain that these legitimate migrants will not pose the similar inimical threats the illegal migrants do?

Thus, on the author is unable to authenticate the claim that, illegal immigrants jeopardize the economy and national identity of a country and they should be remitted at every cost, fails to make a cogent case. The lack of sound information to authenticate the claim questions the veracity of the argument.