The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"Our citizens are well aware of the fact that while the Grandview Symphony Orchestra was struggling to succeed, our city government promised annual funding to help support its programs. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent, and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Such developments indicate that the symphony can now succeed without funding from city government and we can eliminate that expense from next year's budget. Therefore, we recommend that the city of Grandview eliminate its funding for the Grandview Symphony from next year's budget. By doing so, we can prevent a city budget deficit without threatening the success of the symphony."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation from a budget planner that the city of Grandview should eliminate its funding for the Grandview Symphony Orchestra from next year’s budget disregards certain crucial assumptions.

Initially, it is proffered that since the private contributions to Grandview Symphony has increased, also the attendance of people to the concerts in the park series doubled and that the ticket prices will be increased next year, so no funding would be necessary for the next year. However, the author fails to acknowledge that, just because the concerts-in-the-park series was profitable, the upcoming programs would be successful as well. Also, the private investors might not fund Grandview Symphony for the following year, leading it back to the struggling phase. The unavailability to prove the above fallacies renders this claim unjustified.

Secondly, the writer posits that Grandview Symphony is going to increase the ticket prices for next year which will result in the success. Here, the fact that escalating the prices for the programs might drive the people away rather than enticing them to attend the concerts. In addition, private investors, seeing this trend may hold back their funds for future programs at the Orchestra and it might need the funds from the city government more than ever.

Lastly, it is claimed that by eliminating the funds from the city government’s budget for Grandview Symphony Orchestra, the city budget deficits can be prevented. However, if there were deficits in the budget by providing funds to the Orchestra, the government should not have initiated the annual funding to support it in the first place. More so, there is no indication that the developments that Grandview Symphony has made will last and it will continue to thrive without the government’s help.

Therefore, the argument that the city government should eliminate funding Grandview Symphony Orchestra lacks substantial information to prove itself and fails to make a cogent case.