The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

________________________________________

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presented above is specious on various grounds. It states that the population of tufted groundhog will be plunged if the West Lansburg council allows to build a road on the edge of the coastal wetlands but fails to provide substantial information regarding that.

Initially, it sumrises that since in the neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, the sea otter population declined after abolishing the sanctuary in 1978, the identical action will take place at West Lansburg. The author, however, fails to take into account that apples aren't oranges and what happened at Eastern Carpenteria might not happen at the West Lansburg.

Secondly, the demographics for sea otter population has not been provided in the argument which can corroborate that the sea otter population was actually dwindling. Also,there is no specific reason mentioned for the decreasing population. So, it presupposes that it was due to the same reason, as in constructing a road.

Thirdly, the author has given ancient records of groundhog population to be in millions, whereas no present record is mentioned to compare if the tufted groundhog population has declined or risen since the past.

In addition, the argument makes various ambiguous claims, like the sea otter population may have diminished because they found a new habitat and migrated or that the place they inhabited originally might not have enough resources to survive. The former could also be the case for tufted groundhogs that they may have left the place and since no current record is presented to prove that, it could be a possibility.

Therefore, the argument has enough fallacies and it lacks significant information to validate its claims. Hence, the reasons provided questions its veracity.