The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo proposes that XYZ Company should not switch from Delany Personnel Firm to Walsh because of the low numbers of people being rehired and also the time frame is greater, but fails to acknowledge certain crucial assumptions.

Starting with the fact that the employees that used Delany’s services benefitted from it by getting jobs quicker than those who did not take availed the offer, the writer discounts the factor that other people got jobs quicker because they might have various certifications or degrees. Also, there is possibility that they switched their fields and got a job completely different from what they used to do. Moreover, the employees that didn’t use the Delany’s service may have been waiting for better jobs or purposely not wanted to work or started their own businesses.

In addition, the writer proffers that Delany’s firm is better than Walsh’s because people got jobs within 3 to 6 months, whereas people who used Walsh took nine on the basis that Delany Personnel Firm is bigger and have much more staff and branch office. There again, the author fails to take into account that since Delany’s has much more offices, the numbers of employees getting rehired are only good from the one they have been going to. There are no statistics provided for the other offices. Are they doing as well as this office is? Are the numbers same for people getting rehired? The failure of the author to provide answers to these questions renders this claim unjustified.

Furthermore, it is stated the XYZ Company used Walsh Personnel Firm eight years ago and the results were not good. It is truly the case of apples and oranges because the writer has provided the stats of eight years back and comparing it with Delay’s numbers of today. Also, it is said that only half of the employees got job at that time. There could be a possibility that many people were living in that town because of that job and left it as soon as they were laid off or that they opened their own businesses or started working in different fields. The fact that how well is Walsh doing today is unknown making this claim is unsound.

The argument that XYZ Company should continue working with Delany’s and not switch to Walsh is specious on various grounds and therefore, fails to make a cogent case.