The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The recommendation by the president and administrative staff that Grove College should remain an all female college lacks substantial information that could prove this claim.

Initially, it is proffered that a survey conducted by the student government indicated that the school shall remain all female. But, there is no statistical information provided on the gender of participants in the survey. Were there both males and females included in the survey? If only female students were allowed to participate in the study, there is a chance that they only sided with the female populace. This question raises serious objections on the survey conducted and the claim renders itself unjustified.

More so, the author presents the fact that in another survey half of the alumnae oppose coeducation. Was this survey conducted taking into account all of the past years’ alumnae or only a percentage was a part of it? Also, since they have passed out the college in an all female environment, they could be biased about it and want to carry on the tradition. In addition, there has been no data provided about the other half of the alumnae and their opinion. The failure to provide substantial information to prove this claim questions its veracity.

Lastly, the author posits that keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and extract funds from alumnae. However, there is a possibility that the alumnae actually providing financial support may be in favor of coeducation. In addition, there may be a large number of alumnae that initially supported Grove College and wanted to enroll their boys to Grove College, but would be unable to because of the all female tradition and that will eventually lead them to admit their sons in another college and all the funds from them would be directed to that college, leaving Grove College with even lesser funds and financial instability.

Therefore, on the basis of above mentioned fallacies, the claim that Grove college should preserve its tradition to admit only female students fails to make a cogent case and fails what it ought to prove.