The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. If we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, we can predict that our profits will increase, too."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The e-mail sent by the marketing director of Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville suggests that they should start a program called “Shakespeare in the Park” in order to attract more audience and increase the profits, but the assumptions on which the groundwork for the conclusion is laid cannot be logically justified.

To begin with, the director assumes that since the program “Free Plays in the Park”, initiated by Avon Repertory Company two years ago proved fruitful and the profit was increased by 10 percent may not work for Classical Shakespeare Theatre. Since it was instituted two years ago, people may not be interested in watching free plays anymore and their program “Shakespeare in the Park” may not work at all in attracting more audience. And even if, they start the program and people do come to watch free plays at the park does not guarantee that people will go to the theatre as well. These facts that the director disregards make this claim fallacious.

Furthermore, there is a possibility that he difference in plays is the reason Shakespeare Theatre is losing its audience. Maybe Avon Repertory has a different set of plays and those offered by Shakespeare are of completely different genre. The preference of people could be a factor that entails the decreasing profits at the latter. Had the writer presented us with information regarding the types of plays at both the companies, the claim would not have been rendered invalid.

More so, the marketing director also fails to acknowledge that there could be a hole in the marketing strategies they have been using. It is proffered that they have been advertising more and more, yet there is a decline in the size of audience and profits. The medium of advertising they are using could be at fault. Are the using hoardings or TV ads or other banners or Flyers? There is no information provided that could tell us why their advertising is not working. So, the ignorance of a failing marketing strategy makes this claim unsound.

Thus, the argument that Classical Shakespeare Theatre should establish a “Shakespeare in the Park” program in order to improve their profits and entice more audience towards the theatre does not make a cogent case and fails to prove its conclusion.