"In each city in the region of Treehaven, the majority of the money spent on government-run public school education comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region’s cities differ, however, in the value they place on public education. For example, Parson City typically budgets twice as much money per year as Blue City does for its public schools- even though both cities have about the same number of residents. It seems clear, therefore, that Parson City residents care more about public school education than do Blue City residents."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The argument that Parson City residents care more about public school education than do Blue City residents is specious because it fails to provide substantial information that proves it.

Initially, it says that the money for government-run public school education comes from the taxes paid by the inhabitants of each city and that Parson City pays double of what Blue City pays but it does not provide any numbers for the earnings of people in both the cities. There reason for the former paying twice as much tax could be that the people in the latter city earn less than the people in Parson City do. Had the author mentioned these figures, the fallacy would have eradicated itself.

In addition, the argument posits that the residents in both the cities are about the same. This expression is vague and does not give any proof about the population of both the cities. More so, there could be a possibility that the school going populace in Blue City is actually less than in Parson City. That would account for the discrepancy in taxes paid by both the towns. But, since no specific demographics are provided on the total occupancy of the cities and their school going pupils, this claim renders itself false.

On the other hand, the lack of interest, if there is any, of the people of Blue City in public education may be due to the fact that the government might be incapable of managing the schools properly and the quality of education is substandard, which might have led them to consider private school education for their children. Also, the government in Parson City may be managing the schools extremely well. There has been no mention of how the government runs these public schools, if the argument has incorporated these factors, the claim would have been stronger.

On the basis of the aforementioned flaws, for which the writer has either provided insufficient or erroneous information, undermines the argument’s conclusion and it fails to make a cogent case.