The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The personal director recommends the president of Acme that the company should require the all the employees to take the Easy Read course in order to enhance overall productivity, but the ground work on which the director’s conclusion is laid is unsubstantiated.

Initially, it is proffered that one graduate of the course could read a 500-page report in only two hours and another rose form assistant manager to the position of vice president. Here the author disregards that just because the graduate could read 500 pages in two hours, does not necessarily mean that he is actually getting all the information in the report and understanding it. The reason that reading fast saves time doesn’t mean it actually increases the efficiency and accuracy. Also, the fact that the latter graduate got promoted could be because his development was long due. Or that he was very diligent and meticulous in his work. The writer positing that the sole reason of both the graduates accomplishing what they did was that taking up to Easy Read course.

Additionally, the author claims that the faster a person can read the more information he or she can absorb in a day. Is it really the case? Wouldn’t it be mentally exhausting for someone to get that much information in a single workday, let alone remembering it? The failure of writer to present data that would suggest otherwise renders the claim spurious. Had the writer furnished a compelling example of an employee performing extremely well, the claim would have made more sense.

Furthermore, the author posits that Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee and it is a small price to pay for the benefits it entails. It also mentions that the course fee includes a three week seminar in Spruce City. Is Acme Publishing Company in Spruce City? If Spruce city is another town altogether, than does the course fee include the living and food expenditures of employees that are going to attend the seminar? If not then Does Acme has sufficient funds to support the employees that will attend the seminar in Spruce City? The failure of writer to provide answers to the aforementioned questions calls into question the veracity of this assertion.

Hence, the argument that Acme should encourage all their employees to take the Easy Read Course in order to improve the overall productivity is based on assumptions that cannot be authenticated and fails to make a cogent case.