A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Is there an objectively right answer to that? People usually argue that students should only be taught courses that they like and have an interest in. I, on the other hand, believe that until the student knows what different fields have to offer, he or she should not choose a specific curriculum to follow. The knowledge of different fields like science, mathematics, literature, history etc. through the schooling years make students aware of the different walks of life and help them decide to land on a prospect profession. Even if they have ambivalent ideas about a couple of courses, they will be certain about the subjects that they do not want to pursue. The requirement of a nation to follow a national curriculum could be reflected through the following examples.

For instance, a particular school follows a curriculum, which would a nationwide practice, in which only science mathematics and history are taught. The students will have exposure to only these areas of study and will eventually choose from it as a professional field for his or her college. The student oblivious to other areas like art, literature computers etc does not know that these fields also exist. The unfamiliarity of the aforementioned courses could be a reason that the student is unable to decide on a career choice because he or she does not like any of the subjects he has been taught and is unable to perceive a future in those areas.

However, if the schools offer a wide gamut of courses that encompass the pre requisites for major technological fields like engineering, medicine, information technology, etc. It would enable the pupils to get a diverse knowledge of the subjects and might also help them to choose a field that combines a couple of courses they have interest in and pursue as a profession. Since, the populace is exposed to a variety of knowledge, it bolsters their decision of choosing a profession for their profession and leads them to be excellent at what they do.

To sum up, I would say that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college in order to reinforce their decision of a profession and it also allows them to choose from a disparate set of options.