In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Does anyone envision creating something without having a little knowledge about it? Everyone does enter a field because something or the other about it intrigues them. I personally believe that in order to make progress, one puts his or her effort by knowing what has been achieved in the past and what fruit will it bear by further advancing it. The innovative and inventive ideas in the field of medicine and computers can be reflected upon to discern how past achievements influence making a significant contribution in a field.

Taking upon the revolutionary ideas that have been accomplished in the field of medicine seems sublime. How the field has proliferated and how the research and advancement in it has been able to find cures for a variety of everyday increasing diseases. For example, the invention of pacemaker that regulates the beating of the heart at a normal rate was remarkable. The vision of someone making that wouldn’t have just brought to life just for the sake of it. But the knowledge of that person, particularly about the functioning of the heart and cardio-thoracics led him to make such a device. The combination of medicine and technology made possible to achieve the unfathomable.

On the other hand, Computer technology is proliferating day by day; there have been various contributions of computer and information technology specialists in this field that has helped to alleviate various problems. It involves a gamut of things. From being able to create a robot to making it actually assist a human or a human like robot. At first, the robots that were created were just a conflation of electronics, mechanics and computer programming and initially they weren’t able to do much. However with this achievement, the people with the knowledge of these fields considering the path breaking achievement were able to infuse emotions in these robots making the human like. These endeavors were a result of the past achievements in these fields that led people to contribute more towards them.

By my reckoning, it is cardinal that a person should have to have some understanding and knowledge about any field of endeavor to make a significant contribution and that the past achievements may assist them in achieving it.