Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

The argument is specious on various grounds. Initially it presumes that Paleans did not travel to Lithos since no Palean boats were found. Secondly, it surmises that there was no exchange or communication between the two villages. Also it conjectures that the woven baskets originated in Palea.

Initially, the author believes that only through boats Palean people could have travelled across the river to Lithos. It disregards the fact that people from Lithos might have travelled to Palea. On the other hand, the author does not provide any information regarding Palean boats and that they could have been deteriorated over time if there were any.

More so, the fact that there could have been other means of communication or modes of exchange has not taken into account. Like they made the stuff float to the other side of the river or there were people who also knew how to make the same type of baskets.

The author’s also holds the mistaken belief that the woven baskets originally belonged to Palea. The Paleans could have acquired the art from neighboring villages or it might have actually originated in Lithos.

Since the argument has so many fallacies. It fails to make a cogent case that woven baskets were not uniquely Palean.