The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Would machines have ever existed if the greater minds did not think like they did? Would we be able to solve the complex problems like machines do so efficiently and accurately? It may seem like a paradox but human minds and machines go hand in hand. The question of human minds being superior to machines is a quandary to me. I believe that humans created machines for their convenience and it may be before that “great minds lead to great inventions” but nowadays these great inventions lead to a greater good. So, in my opinion it is a give and take situation in today’s day and age. Reflecting upon examples of Abacus and the invention and usage of super computers, we can see how sometimes the human mind is superior and how computer outstrips a human mind.

Starting with the first computer ever created by Charles Babbage, called Abacus we can see how his innovation lead others to creating wonders in the field of computers. A simple counting device was made by using a frame with rods containing movable elements that helped in calculations. Surely, this was a revolutionary technology brought to life by a great mind and paved the way to achieve more and finally creating a programmable computer. Here it is evident how a human mind is superior to a machine.

On the other hand, we can see that how the revolution brought by a programmable computer lead the humans to create a super computer by programming it with a variety of formulas and theories. These super computers have helped the human minds to comprehend the unfathomable mathematical and scientific problems. Consequently, if we see that if it weren’t for super computers, humanity would have still struggled with a lot of conundrums and dilemmas. And even if people tried to solve these problems, which could have taken months or years to solve, there was no guarantee that the results accomplished will be accurate. The fact that super computers solve these problems efficiently and with speed saves human time and energy. Therefore, here machines supersede the human minds.

To sum up, I would say that the question of humans being superior to machines is really a matter of objectivity, because sometimes humans supersede machines and sometimes machines help humans to achieve the insurmountable.