The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The advice by the investing firm to the client to invest in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major operations would be to sell home heating oil, based on the fact that in northeastern United States people traditionally used oil as the major fuel in for heating disregards certain crucial assumptions.

Initially, it is said that people traditionally used oil to keep the homes warm. However, it is not mentioned that people still use only oil nowadays. They could be using other materials such as gas, wood, etc along with the oil. Just because it was traditional to use oil, doesn’t mean that they still do it or use it as much as they did before.

In addition, the author says that new homes are being built due to the influx of population in these regions. Here, the fact that the new homes may contain centrally heating systems or electrical radiators or use other material that may help keep the homes warm could be used. Had the author provided any information about the new homes being built in the same fashion as the old ones and the primary source of heating them would be a fuel, the claim would have been authenticated.

Furthermore, there argument has mentioned climatic variations below the normal temperature and is forecasted to for on for several years. Although, the temperature plummeted last year, there is no guarantee that this trend will continue. The predictions could go wrong and the temperature may be reinstated the following year. The impotency of the claim to guarantee a decreasing temperature in the following years renders it unsound.

Hence, the argument that the client should invest in Consolidated Industry with oil being its major selling commodity based on the predicted assumptions fails to make a cogent case in proving out its conclusion.