The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The committee recommends that the city of Calatrava should reduce the funds budgeted for public schools, athlete playing fields and other recreational facilities since the birthrate is plummeting and use that to finance city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, as they expect the adult population to increase does not make a logically compelling case as it disregards certain crucial assumptions.

First of all, the argument posits that the birthrate is decreasing and that last year’s birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. However, there is no statistical information provided that can validate this claim. Also, the reason of declining birthrate could be that people have migrated from the city and there is a significant fall in the overall population. Had the author presented the demographics that could confirm these facts, the claim would not have rendered it flawed.

On the other hand, since the writer’s claim of plunging population cannot be justified, the point of safely reducing the educational budget is questionable. There may come a time when the population reinstates or there may be an influx of people from other places that could escalate the school going population.

In addition the writer also fails to provide a direct relation between the school going population and athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. Are those facilities only used by students? Does no other person from the city use them? Or the access is limited to a people of certain age? The insufficiency of the information based on the raised questions leads to question its veracity.

Finally, it is proffered that the funds saved should be used on the city facilities used primarily by adults, since the adult population is expected to rise. However, no sufficient data is provided that it will be the case.

Based on the above mentioned fallacies, the argument lacks to make a cogent case in explaining why the city of Calatrava should be reducing its budgeted funds from public schools, athletic playing fields and recreational facilities and using them on the city facilities primarily used by adults.