"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

Will it really help a society to instill a sense of cooperation without competition? Does cooperation only will lead them to be great leaders, industrialists etc? Many of us would say no. I believe that a competitive instinct is necessary for the people of a society in order to flourish. A healthy sense of competition paves the way for better future for a nation in every walk of life. Reflecting upon the leadership of a corrupt politician and a scientist seeking greatness in innovation and design, one can discern how both the sense of cooperation and competition is essential.

To begin with, people nowadays are especially teteering away from politics and government leaderships, especially in Pakistan, beacuse every politician seems like a hoaxer waiting to pilfer people of his or her country. A corrupt politician induces people with negativity and people who espy these traits in a leader want someone who will lead a nation towards prosperity. So, if only cooperation wil be ingrained in people, there is very little chance that people will go against the leader who is taking the nation towards anarchy and decimation. If there is also a competing trait in people, they would want to change that and be in power to save the nation from extirpation. So, the importance of a sense of competion trumps a sense of cooperation.

On the other hand, on can take an example of a scientist who wants to revolutionalize the face of science. The scientist working under another well-known scientist following his orders and theories in order to cooperate with his superior and learn from him, may lose his creativity and new ideas of invention because the superior does not believe in them and the fact they cannot be proven unless worked upon. Here, if a competition of any sort existed, the scientist would want to bring to life his creative ideas for the betterment of people. Although being a scientist, the superior disregards his ideas, but his ideas were just ass

By my reckoning, the best way for a society to prepare its people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them both the sense of cooperation and competition. Because cooperation would lead them to win hearts and minds and competition would challenge them to excel and take the nation towards betterment.