The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of KNOW radio station

"Several factors indicate that KNOW radio can no longer succeed as a rock-and-roll music station. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of rock-and-roll music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. We predict that switching KNOW radio from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will allow the station to attract older listeners and make KNOW radio more profitable than ever."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The manager’s prediction that KNOW radio should switch from Rock-and-Roll music to 24-Hour news, which will prove profitable lacks certain crucial information to justify its claims.

Initially, it is presumed that Know Radio would not succeed as a Rock-and Roll music station because the number of people in the listening area over fifty years has increased and the overall listeners has decreased. However, the manager fails to take into account that the fifty year olds may have a predilection for Rock-and-Roll music and that the radio station may get the number of listeners back through them.

In addition, the dwindling sales of Rock-and-Roll music in nearby music stores are cited to confirm that people are not enjoying this kind of music of music anymore. Just because people are not buying this music does not justify that they are no longer fond of it. There is a chance that people may like it more on the radio. The inability of the writer to comprehend this fact questions the veracity of this claim.

Moreover, the manager talks of switching to 24-hour news, on the basis of the fact that since the population of over year old people has risen in the listening area, news would entice more listeners and that would be profitable. However, there is a possibility that these people might prefer music more than news, which could lead to even lesser listeners for the radio station. Has the station conducted any poll or survey that could justify that switching to new would be a great idea? Since there is no information regarding that, this claim renders itself spurious.

Therefore, due to aforementioned fallacies, the argument that KNOW radio should be cutting off Rock-and-Roll music replacing it with 24-hour news lacks substantial information that could substantiate its claim fails to make a cogent case.