Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Would it be possible to know what we know about the universe and science, if it weren’t for scientists who made the obscured clear to us? I would say no. The contributions of the world’s scientist have led us to comprehend what happens, how it happens and when it happens. Like the rain cycle or gravity. In the beginning, these concepts were also arcane. We would not be learning these new concepts if the scientist researching them were not backed up financially by the governments. Reflecting on inventing a space craft to land on Mars for the first time and Transplanting a human body organ.

NASA (The National Aeronautics and Space Administration), an entity branched by the US Federal Government to promote and pioneer in Aeronautics and Space Aviation is the best example that could be given in order to prove this issue. The initiative by NASA to land on Mars through various attempts, theories and formulations to accomplish the insurmountable came true and Neil Armstrong was the first man to land on Mars. There was no certainty that this mission would be successful and there were various attempts, in the beginning, on NASA’s part to fulfill this goal but the consequences were unpredictable. Yet, the federal government supported this cause and funded these researches.

On the other hand, there are various world organizations like WHO (World Health Organization) that supports the endeavor of doctors and other biologist in the research conducted for organ transplant or regarding other pandemics, that could harm the earth’s nature and environment. Surely, the revolutionary idea that a person’s organ could cure another being was worth supporting by the government. There was no proof that the results would be fruitful and the theory would actually work. Yet, people continued to strive for it achieved the results of successfully transplanting a human organ. Had this pioneering research would not be financed by the government, we wouldn’t have been seeing this day, where millions of lives are saved like this.

To conclude, I would say that the only certainty is uncertainty and that initially the results and consequences of all of the scientific researches are esoteric and unpredictable, yet what we don’t know is what drives towards knowing that. Hence, if the Government will stop funding the scientific research just so its results are unclear, that will always be the case and we will not be progressing.