Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals are a controversial topic. Some people will say that scandals actually drive peoples’ attention to the problems and play a certain role in the eye opening. However, others will refute that scandals are misleading and only way to divert people’s attention from a burning issue. I, on the other hand believe that the roles scandals play hold disparate significance in the context and domain to which the scandal belongs to. These facts could be better comprehended through the scandals relating to show business and Governments.

For instance, the scandal is about an actress or model that had a wardrobe malfunction while walking on the ramp. The media very flamboyantly broadcasts the news or write articles in newspapers and magazines with pictures of the actual scenario. And sometimes the issue is not so significant or weighty as it is exaggerated and showed to the people.And that it was not as big of malfunction and it was handled properly. This might not affect the model or actress, because it is their job and they might have been through worse. Here comes the fact that the issue was not there to begin with and that it was a scandal for no rhyme or reason. And as they say in the show business that “There is no such thing as bad publicity.” The actress or model may have gotten more work because of it.

In contrast, there was a recent scenario of a ruling prime minister, who has continuously embezzled money from the government funds in order to satiate his personal needs and has invested in businesses outside the country in order to triple that amount of money, was just impeached and interdicted for his actions. He was suspended and tried in the court of law. This whole prime minister debacle was on the news for three months until the verdict came out and he was held accountable for his actions. Since this was such a considerable issue. The media did not stop and other scandals of the minister’s dual nationality and business that were long hiding and concealed were unveiled like that.

So, by my reckoning, a scandal’s true vitality depends upon the territory of context and how pertinent it actually is in discerning a problem and also how it is able to make other complications conspicuous to the people.