A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Should a person be barred from exercising his or her civil rights because he or she has knowningly committed a crime is a question with refutable answers. Many of us would condemn someone like this and do say yes in the answer to the question. However, there may be some who would look at it differently and say no in response to that question. I, on the other hand, believe that it actually depends upon the extent and severity of the crime. To illuminate if a person should or should not be allowed to retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labour, one could reflect on the following scenarios in which a person commits a crime.

Taking an example of a person, who for his family, violated the law by theft of some money or other goods beacuse he could not afford them. During the period of worldwide recession, there were many cases reported like that and it was because of the facts that a lot of people lost their jobs and were unable to support their families, like they used to and just because they could not have failed in front of their family and wanted to fulfill their needs and desires, was the sole reason that they knowongly contravened. The only thing that drove them on the verge of going outside the law was their insufficiency to be able to support their families. In this case, the conundrum arises of the persons culpability and the degree of his indictment.

In contrast, could be taken a person who,is transgresses because he gets a kick in it. His mental capabilities allow him to disregard all the laws and regulations and he likes committing crimes. Like there was a recent report of a person that shot people in Miami, Florida based on their ethnicity and sexual preference. This kind of mentality should be reprimanded and delinquents mired in these crimes should be indicted with severe punishments.

So, by my reckoning, the cognitive state and circumstances in which a person knowingly infringes a law and b, really matters and the extent of their crime also matters in order to truly justify if the errant should or should not be able to retain his or her rights.