The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that to improve Hopewell’s economy and generate additional tax revenues, it would be wise to follow Ocean View’s path to build a similar golf course and resort hotel, is spurious on various accounts.

To begin with, it surmises that since the new municipal golf course and resort hotel worked for Ocean View and the tax revenues increased by 30 percent and new businesses opened up, it will also work for Hopewell. However, the author fails to validate this assumption. There are various factors that should be taken into account. For example, Ocean View’s population was already increasing by the time they opened the resort hotel and people started businesses there within this period. Hence, there was a boom in the economy.

On the other hand, the author has not considered the location of both the towns, which plays a crucial role in attracting tourism and potential investors. Maybe the location of Ocean View was very bucolic and people liked it as a recreational spot. Also, does Hopewell have the amount of land available to construct a golf course and a hotel resort? If the author had mentioned something about the location of both places being alike and the availability of the area, then the statement would have made a sound case.

More so, there may be other ways to improve Hopewell’s economy and generate revenues. Hopewell could hold county fairs and other festivals that might attract people towards the town. Or the city’s people could engage in trade with other cities to help improve the economy. In addition, they could build parks, zoos or other places and advertise them in order to attract tourists and increase tourism.

Therefore, the argument that Hopewell should follow the footsteps of Ocean View and build up a golf course and resort hotel to ameliorate the economy and help escalate tax revenues, is based on many inferences that are lack cogency and the claims should incorporate additional information so as to authenticate its conclusion.