The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

As they say that “The more you know about the past, the better you are prepared for the future.” Most of us would agree to the fact that history does make us comprehend things in a better and more efficient way and that we learn from our past. There is a saying that goes “Those who don’t know history are destined to repeat it.” Therefore, I believe that knowing history leads you to a better understanding of the future and that definitely shows us the gradual changes and shifts that take place with time.

However, there is a part of me that also believes that, everyone has a different take on history and perceives it differently in accordance with the depths of their insights. Some would say that it is written by the victors and that it will only shed light to the goodness and the triumphs of him. Others would say that it is merely one side of the story and that there might be another take on it. In case of a battle, one might say that there are two sides of the story, the winner’s and the loser’s and that both of these would be glorified in their own stories.

On the other hand, there may be some historical facts that all would concur upon. These are the points that people promote because of the congruities they carry. Let’s take an example of The Mongols, who were considered to be undefeated until finally they were vanquished by Alauddin Khilji.

To sum up, I think the main benefit of the study of history is to learn from others peoples’ mistakes and also to enrich and sensibly structure the future by not following the footsteps and also to see the difference in the livelihood that has change over the centuries.