It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Does adhering to one’s belief is a matter of choice or a priority? Is it really worth sticking to every practice and belief that our antecedents followed? Any sane and pragmatic soul would definitely question that. The fact that people follow certain rituals and beliefs just because their parents have been doing it, without even knowing the reason or logic to it is completely preposterous to me. In my opinion, one should have the knowledge about the dogmas that their clan follows, the specific details of why they follow it and are they really necessary to exercise. Reflecting upon the traditional culture of dowry in certain communities and Jehovah’s witness’ belief in blood transfusions on religious grounds, one could see how adhering to one’s belief does more harm than good.

Dowry has been exercised in various parts of India and Pakistan over ages now. The belief that a daughter is a burden to some people heavily relies upon the fact that they have to arrange for an affluent dowry in order to get a suitable and nice groom for their daughter. People, in these parts of the world try and save for this day, right after they give birth to a girl child. This practice, although anachronistic, are still followed by some people. Without even knowing that how it started and why it is still followed, people continue to do it. Some people think that just because they gave birth to a boy, it is their birth right to get the marriage settlement. Often times marriages don’t work out or the bride is tortured because her family was unable to satiate the in-laws’ gluttony. The point that even the educated lot is still in favor of this is beyond me. The groom’s family should consider that they are giving the most precious thing they could possibly give and yet, they want other things as well without considering if they are able to that. This practice seems illogical to me and harms a lot of homes and folks should consider these facets and not just blindly cling to it.

On the other hand, Jehovah’s witnesses are people are stern and strict regarding their morals, religion and way of living. They stick to their puritanical way of living and do not allow the transfusion of blood if they actually require it. Even, if the person is on the brink of death. This belief that God will protect and save them and that if the person is dying, it is the God’s will, lead me to question the “clinging on to one’s own beliefs is not harmful.”

So, by my reckoning, one should not just blindly adhere to whatever beliefs and rituals are exercised in their family and should be able to discern the effects they bear on people performing them. Also, if they are necessary to perform and significant to the family and hold some practical relevance.