Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

The advertising director's argument that they should allocate greater budget for advertising the movies next year so that they can reach the public is spurious on various grounds as it lacks certain crucial information that could justify the claims.

Initially, it is proffered that according to the report from the marketing department, fewer people have attended Super Screen produced movies last year than in any other year. However, the fact that most the movies produced this year may not be of the same genres as of last year and people that usually went to watch Super-Screen produced movies did not prefer these classes of movies has not been taken into account. More so, even if the genre was the same, people may not have time to attend the movies at the time of their release because of their prior commitments or busy schedules. The unavailability of information regarding these scenarios questions the veracity of this claim.

Secondly, it is posited that the reviews for specific Super-Screen produced movies haven been positive and increased over the last year. Here, the director fails to acknowledge that some specific movies, not all, have been reviewed positively and that people may have been to watch those movies, whose reviews were good but not the other ones, which may have let the numbers of people attending movies dwindle.

Lastly, the director claims that the problem is not with the quality of the movies but the public's lack of awareness of that the movies of good quality are available. The failure of writer to realize that again, specific movies, not all were reviewed positively and that there is no information of the contents of the review. Were they about the story, direction, acting or cinematography? Was there any review that highlighted the quality of the movie in particular? The insufficiency of data that could answer these questions renders this claim unsound.

Therefore, the argument that greater share of the movie budget should be allocated to the advertising so that it reaches the public fails to make a cogent case and is rendered fallacious.