Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: Great achievements by a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure a good life for the majority of that nation's people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Does the contributions made by scientists, rulers or artists of a nation its only source of recognition? Or it is the lay man that really makes a country known to the world? Many of us will have ambivalent views on this one. In my opinion the large part of a nation’s acknowledgement is due to the achievements or controversies on behalf of the scientists, rulers or artists. Reflecting upon William Shakespeare and Dr. Abdul Qadeer Khan, we can see that how the scientists and artists make an impact on the country’s image.

Most of the world knows about the great writer, poet and actor William Shakespeare. Regarded as the greatest writer in the history of English language and the world’s pre-eminent dramatist, he was the one who brought glory to the England because of his great novels and plays. His works like Macbeth, Othello Hamlet are considered the most amazing tragic works ever produced. His works contain comedies, tragedies and romances are well-known all around the world and have also been translated into many other languages and there people also regard him as a prolific writer. His most amazing work Rome and Juliet have been adapted by many movie makers across the globe and his novel Macbeth transpired to be the basis of many great tragic stories following it. It is because of these great achievements that England became to be known as Romantic and people from across the globe still go to Stratford-upon-Avon, where he was born, for the sanctity and legacy he left.

Another instance can be taken of scientists who bring accolades and recognition to a nation by their discoveries. Dr. Abdul Qadeer Khan, a renowned nuclear physicist was the pioneer of making Pakistan a nuclear power. It was his work that earned Pakistan and Muslims a recognition in the whole world. His discovery and methods led him to several national awards. He was also called to other countries like United States, for his work. There is a long going controversy about his actions and involvement in the nuclear weapon proliferation. Yet, he is known to be a Pakistani Scientist that got acclamation and recognition for his work and his nation and through the initiatives he took other nations were able to collaborate with Pakistan ensuring good lives to the people.

All in all, I believe that both the countries powerful and erudite people and commoner can make a difference and lead their nation towards prosperity and greatness. However, the greater part of it is because of the scientists and artist that communicate to the world through their compositions and innovations.