The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Well, no one can deny the fact that in order to be a great leader a person must have the sense of tolerance, patience and equity towards everything and everyone. In order for the leader of a nation or any other sector to be truly great, he or she has to espouse everything that comes with it. The diversity, the melange of ethnicities, religions, races, cultures and traditions and also affluence and poverty. Therefore, I believe that a leader must have a sense of forbearance towards each and every person and situation and must be cooperative enough to deal with these circumstances. However, instilling just a sense of cooperation and not competition may lead them to be indulgent, because a sense of competition can be the impetus on which a leader thrives to become better. One can reflect on the following examples and comprehend how only a sense of cooperation may lead to a doom of a leader.

Well, let's take an example of an industry owner who does not have a sense of competition and always is very cooperative with his other industry counterparts and very acquiescent to their demands which in turn gets him to lose a lot business and financial instability. So, if only he thrived on cooperation and equanimity towards his competitors he is bound to fail. Therefore, a healthy sense of competition must also be there so that there is always room for improvement and betterment.

Another instance of a national leader can be taken who is always willing to compromise with other leaders and lowers the taxes on imports and exports for other countries to have a sufficiently profitable business overseas. This is fine if, the nation is doing financially well and is stable to endure such lower taxes. However, if this is not the case then that nation's economy is bound to crumple and the nation is nearing downfall. In this, case the leadership with just a sense of cooperation will be razed to the ground

To conclude, I think that in order for a society to produce better leaders, the best way would be to instill both a sense of cooperation and healthy competition which will not only be beneficial for the society but also for those individuals in the long run.

The advertising director's argument that they should allocate greater budget for advertising the movies next year so that they can reach the public is spurious on various grounds as it lacks certain crucial information that could justify the claims.